You Must Keep Years in Your Bag

I very rarely have people stopping by my house unannounced, a fact I thoroughly enjoy however things are changing, I’m starting to get weekly visits…and I actually don’t mind it as much as I thought I would.

Remember the guy who built what I thought was a boxing ring that turned out to be for martial arts. He’s one of my new visitors. I have a WHOLE YEAR at site and he’s already sad that I’m going, he said I should stay, I said I can’t because I’m getting older and there’s other things I want to do. Now let’s transition into the conversation.

Guy: You’re getting older? But you’re still young, how old are you?

Me: I’m 28

Guy: *bursts into laughter* I can’t believe. I thought maybe 20, 21, 22.

Me: Nope. 28

Guy: *more laughter* you know yourself you’re 28 but me I think it’s a joke. You must be keeping years in your bag.

Me: Keeping years in my bag? Hahahaha

Guy: Yeah, so you can take them out when you want to look old but for now you look even 18.

Me: 18?

Guy: You could even tell someone you’re 13 and eat well because you’re a bit fat.

Me: Would someone really believe me if I told them I was 13?

Guy: They would believe.

Language is beautiful and there’s several phrases used here that I love but “keeping years in your bag” has to be in the top 3. The conversation went on and there were a few other gems. He left and I was flattered.

Leave a Reply

