Goals and Visions for 20

I did somewhat of a test group. Instead of teaching 200-400 students in my weekly life skills class, I taught 20 girls one week and 40 girls the following week. I could write another blog post dedicated to the difference the quantity alone made let alone the mono-gender. I was able to learn the names, personalities, strengths and weaknesses of my students more successfully in those 2 weeks than my last 6 months of teaching. What a refreshing change.

The lesson dealt with the importance of setting goals that are clear, achievable and have a set deadline.

My students shared career and education goals, goals to empower themselves and other girls in the community, goals on marriage and children and timing it after the achievement of other goals.

We made vision boards to tie in the lesson and spark creativity. The boards are a reminder. The boards are a challenge to each love one they share it with to support each student on their journey. The boards supported some cultural beliefs and refuted others. They have a visual reminder of  the promises they’ve made to themselves.

It was an amazing day that energized me after my funk. I’m thrilled for the future of my students.

DSC01057 DSC01059 DSC01060 DSC01063 DSC01069 DSC01073 DSC01075 DSC01076 DSC01079 DSC01081 DSC01083 DSC01086 DSC01090 DSC01091 DSC01094 DSC01096

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

