A Journey of Self Discovery: Howard’s Teneasha Pierson #MyHBCUMyStory

Hi Friends!
Today I was featured on HBCUStory. In this piece I share my journey of self discovery throughout my undergraduate studies at HBCU, Howard University in Washington, DC. Check it out!

HBCUSTORY

People disappeared, reappeared, made plans to go somewhere, and then lost each other, searched for each other, found each other a few feet away.

– F. Scott Fitzgerald, The Great Gatsby

College has been bookmarked by many as the time in a person’s life in which they explore and become who they are supposed to be. Prior to Howard University, not only did I not know myself, I didn’t know the possibilities of what I was capable of. For me, my hometown, Oakland, California, was too much of the same and the same was all I knew.

I do not know the author’s intention for the aforementioned quote; however, I see it as a story of self-discovery. It’s losing yourself, it’s making plans that will undoubtedly change, it’s finding yourself; hopefully in a good place, but not far from the essence of who you’ve always been. If you accept my interpretation, this accurately depicts my journey at Howard University.

Within the first few days, I met three of my…

View original post 651 more words

Leave a Reply

