Meeting my Kids

I had my introductory meeting with the school where I’ll teach Life Skills classes starting next term, Nangina Mixed Primary School. Life Skills is an extracurricular course where we’ll discuss health and social issues.

After a morning discussing abortion and a planning meeting for World AIDS Day I thought I’d spice it up and talk about mental health with my kids. Guess what? They actually enjoyed it. We discussed how love of self and love and acceptance from family, friends and community affect our productivity and physical health.

While they are on break I have assigned them to pay special attention to things that make them feel good about themselves and the things that don’t. I really want to tackle self esteem this year.

 My introduction to the students

Q & A

After speaking a student got up to appreciate me for coming

The 2 other students that got up to appreciate me after the 1st student. They felt he didn’t quite cover it. They were all so sweet.

6 Comments

  1. You are AMAZING!!!! I teared up just reading this and looking at the pictures. Keep up the amazing work T. I know your students will NEVER forget the impact you make in their lives. LOVE YOU CHICA!

    -Britt

    Reply

  2. ok, sooo….I kinda might be a softy and just cried reading this post. It takes me back to the letter I submitted for your Dynasty book. I spoke of how it would be SO hard to share you, but I knew I had to do it. I knew that I could not limit your light & love to the confines of our friendship. This post is a prime reflection of that. The children in Kenya are having the opportunity to experience what the Dynasty did, and people in DC, and Oakland, and New Orleans, and South Africa, and Jamaica. Those children are beautiful and awesome, and you being in their lives is going to be such a blessing. I am so proud and honored to call you my friend and my sister.

    Reply

  3. I’m so proud of you and your work! Those children are going to be some of your biggest fans. What Kenya said is beautiful. What a great testimony of friendship! P.S. Have you re-watched that Peace Corps youtube video about the superstar volunteer and the not-so-enthusiastic volunteer since arriving in Kenya?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

