Family Appreciation

Our final weekend in Loitokitok we had a family appreciation ceremony. This was the time for both the trainees and Peace Corps to thank our families for welcoming us into their homes.

I suppose, I have yet to properly introduce you to my host family.

Meet the Longuida family: (missing from this photo is my younger brother, Jeremy)

My baba is retired from the army, my mama owns a cosmetics shop. All my host siblings are in or preparing for school.

The family appreciation ceremony included a local dance group, a speech in Kiswahili and English by 2 of my fellow trainees, we awarded superlatives to our language trainers, a skit by a few other trainees and presentations of certificates to the families.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

